APEC Summit uses Milestone software

Breakthrough: IP-Based Video Surveillance used at Summit in Mexico.
COPENHAGEN, 23 October 2002.

Milestone Systems A/S, a world-leading manufacturer of IP-based video surveillance software, has delivered the solution for central parts of the video surveillance being deployed at the APEC summit taking place in Los Cabos, Mexico, from 21-27 October. Participants in the summit are leaders from the 21 member states, among these is U.S. President George W. Bush.

In a cooperative effort with the computer giant Hewlett Packard, the storage area network company TAL Digital, and Milestone Systems, a unique video surveillance solution has been made available to the summit.

The Mexican security authorities use the Milestone digital video surveillance software and two powerful Hewlett Packard Itanium2 servers as important components of the extensive security system surrounding the summit. The system is in use at the hotel where the Mexican President Vicente Fox is staying, and where a part of the summit meetings are being held, as well as in the customs and immigrations area of the nearby Los Cabos International Airport.

The security system at the summit is in particular focus following recent acts of terrorism, so the security precautions are naturally extensive. The video surveillance solution, which also comprises a facial recognition system, will be monitoring the leaders and their delegations from many of the 21 member states.

The choice of Milestone as the supplier of the critical surveillance solution at the APEC summit strengthens Milestone System’s position as one of the world's leading manufacturers of advanced video surveillance solutions. The cooperation with Hewlett Packard during the summit is especially interesting because it is the first time a super computer of this type and size is being used for digital video surveillance and facial recognition.

APEC, which stands for Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, is an organization established to develop economic and trade cooperation between the USA, Canada, Mexico, and a number of countries outside the E.U. The organization has 21 member states:

Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chile; People's Republic of China; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Japan; Republic of Korea; Malaysia; Mexico; New Zealand; Papua New Guinea; Peru; Republic of the Philippines; Russia; Singapore; Chinese Taipei; Thailand; USA; Vietnam.